Related Pages
Photo Albums

Educator of the Year

The Amesbury Rotary club is now taking nominations for its 35th annual Educator of the Year award. Nomination forms may be picked up at the Amesbury Public Library, at any Amesbury school office, or at the Chamber of Commerce. Nomination deadline is noon April 25, 2017.

The award recognizes professional excellence and performance of outstanding service on the job. The recipient must have been employed by and taught in the Amesbury Public School system for at least five years and still teach here, must not plan on retiring within two years, and cannot have previously been given this honor. Administrators are not eligible.

Past recipients include Maryanne Dower, Bethany Noseworthy, Mark Casto, Liz Morris, Gale Regis, Anita Marsh, Maureen Hardin, Bruce McBrien, Patty Bradley, John Lyman, Suzanne Morin, Karen Iworsky, Tom Horan, Steven O'Connor, Billie McLane, Jim Cassidy, Chris Perry, Albert MacDonald Jr., Peggy Laufer, Kathy Scholtz, Marlene Schroeder, John Swistak, Bill Claffey, Marcia Stellmach, Geraldine Minihan, Glenn Peterson, Maria Ferrandini, Nina Tassinari, Linda Young, Rose Marie Bailey, Patricia Hoyt, Peter Hoyt, Barbara Foster, and Barbara Leary.

Service to the youth of the community is a big part of the Amesbury Rotary Club's mission. Toward this end the club sponsors scholarships, offers interest-free student loans, contributes to various academic awards, reads to students at the elementary schools, contributes to James Place, sponsors AYRBall (Amesbury Youth Rotary Basketball), participates in RYLA (Rotary Youth Leadership Awards), invites student guests from the high school to attend its weekly luncheon meetings, coordinates international exchange student programs, and sponsors Interact Clubs at Amesbury Middle School, Amesbury Innovation High School, and Amesbury High School.

Nominations are encouraged from present and past students, parents, fellow teachers and administrators, and any member of the community who knows of an educator who they feel deserves this award. To nominate an educator, please read and fill out this form.